What makes an interest check good?

Catnapper

Cat God & Fantasy Freak
I'm not that new to roleplaying, but I'm new to making a decent interest check that will get people want to join. How can I put my idea into an interest check that will get people to come? I've had no luck so far.

I only do 1x1 RP, so this is the only thing I can really speak to.  

I'm normally looking for the keywords "Long term" in the title.  If I see that, I'm in that check right away (unless it's got the word "Fandom"attached, I just don't like fandom rps.)  Long term roleplayers tend to be more high quality writers and their more willing to do the work required to finish the story (and maybe start a new one).  You want partners that'll last and make it so you don't really have to look again anytime soon.  

Words that I often see in titles that turn me away are, "Always looking" or "Always open".  This indicates that this person has a high turn over rate for partners.  They likely drop a lot of people and/or they get dropped a lot.  Everyone drops and gets dropped, if someone says they've not done one or the other they're lying!  But how often dose it happen and how fast says a LOT about the player.  

Once I'm in a check I'm looking at their rules first.  What do they expect and is it in line with what I expect?  I look for players who don't want one liners and I like 2-3 paragraphs and I like seeing "More is always welcome".  I also personally like potential partners who say they follow site rules!  I look at how often they want a reply and if they expect me to let them know if I'll be gone for a while.  I also want to see them say that they want me to let them know if I need to drop.  I look for all of this because it's implied they'll follow these rules as well.  You want a partner that is going to be polite and you want to be a polite partner as well.