Advice/Help Chance, randomization, group decision-making, dice etc in RP...

Hello friends,

I do a lot of roleplaying, mainly 1x1. I'm a very character- and story- driven person, and I love developing elaborate plots with my partners. I often come up with overarching plots and then help partners work their own characters and ideas into them.

But I do sometimes wish I could draw on an element of chance for plot progressions, or have a way that players can choose from multiple options. Otherwise roleplays with two people can be a bit artificial, or run out of steam. And roleplays with a group can become chaotic.

I've seen that there is a dice option on here, which I've never used before. I'd be interested to hear how people use them in story-based roleplays (if they do).

I'd also be interested to hear any other ways people have found to incorporate an element of genuine chance, surprise, randomization or collective decision making into plot-driven roleplays.

I have an RP partner I've been playing with for a few years, and we like to add dice rolls into story-based RP just for the fun and randomness of it. Most of the time we used it for fights. Players would roll a d20 to attack and defend. Attacks would only hit if 10 or over, and the defender would need to roll the same or above to defend successfully. Needless to say this added a lot of unpredicatability and hilarity to all the combat. Sometimes we would casually add modifiers, and the comparative strength of the combatants was taken into account in terms of damage and effects.

But then, we started adding in dice rolls for other things, such as "Does this action make the character more or less popular with onlookers?" "What colour t-shirts are they selling at the merch stall?" "How good is this guy's guitar playing" etc. etc. and it was really fun.