Other What is Your Best Cleaning Advice?

ApfelSeine

Murder by Numbers 🏳️‍🌈🖥️
Hello there!

For the past year, my roommate has been complaining that I'm bad at cleaning. Not that I don't do it, but specifically that when I do I'm not good at it. Most notably, I've been told that I don't sweep the floors correctly and miss a lot of dust when I clean. Lately I've tried counteracting that by always wearing my glasses and turning the lights on when cleaning to make sure I see everything, but apparently I'm still doing it wrong.

Does anyone have tips on how they clean their house/apartment? It can be hard to learn, so I think it would be good to share advice.

My best tip for cleaning is to always wash and dry off pans/cooking utensils while cooking. It saves a lot of work later if you use multiple pans and knives. It's important to dry everything off too when you have time, since the drying mat can get cluttered quickly.

What is your best advice?

And that is why I don't have roommates ... but that isn't useful. Fortunately I have some military expertise to fall back on - and my mother's old advice.

Dusting / Cleaning shelves: Start at the top and work your way down ... a section at a time. A section can be a wall, large piece of furniture, or kitchen cabinets.

Floors - it depends on the type of floor.
Hardwood floors tend to get dusty. Easy to miss "dust bunnies". Use something that will grab them and not let them go. Dust mop, Swiffer mop, etc.

Tile or linoleum are different. Stuff tends to accumulate in edge and corners. Assume it has and be diligent.

Man, this brings back memories of dorm life and white glove inspections. Ever see a First Sergeant nearly breaking his neck on a hardwood floor that you used Lemon Pledge on?

Water mixed with vinegar is great for cleaning windows and light calcium deposits. Use sparingly though, it kinda smells of vinegar for a little while after.