Chitchat "Nice Criticism"

Emmi

Jumin's Bae
This is just my opinion, but I feel as though "nice criticism" isn't really.. beneficial. Whether you create a piece of artwork, or song, or something creative, there will be people who criticize it. However, most people just tend to say "that's real nice" or "fantastic!" But, let me as you a question, was it? I've seen plenty of shitty artworks and such, but people don't really improve from "nice criticism". If you tell them what you think about the artwork or something creative, ex. "the anatomy is all wrong, you should try to research more" or "the song really hurts my ears.. maybe you should try tuning it down a little". With these comments, they can cover their mistakes and learn from it. As an artist, I remember people would say "that's nice!" or "good job!" but never really criticize my artwork. Over the years, I looked back at my artwork, and dear lord, they were terrible. Horrendous. And, a thought echoed my head: "Why didn't they criticize it? I would've improved sooner." "Nice criticism" is usually used to "protect feelings", and I find this lame. They'll never get better this way, or take a long ass time to do so. If they can't handle criticism, maybe showing their creative work to people isn't really for them.

So, what do you guys think about "nice criticism"? I would love to look at some of your opinions.

imo, you have to use a mix of both "nice" and "mean" criticism.

for example: "this was a really nice read, however, i think you have to work on your word usage in a few places."

or

"i really like the way you develop your characters but the grammar and punctuation threw me off a bit. perhaps you should work on that and you'd be a standout writer."