Advice/Help How to Run Group RPs

MisterMustachio

I'm new to RpNation, and I'm wondering how y'all run group RPs.

I have a lot of experience running TTRPGs as a GM, and have done very short format RP sessions on some games, but nothing long-running. I'm curious as to how I should go about actually running a group RP where everybody is equally contributing to the story and narrative and deciding their own outcomes.

As someone who has been the GM of group forum RPs, I don't really think there is much to it. What makes being the GM of a forum RP easier than a TTRPG is that the GM is also a player, folks can post at their pace, and there is less prep work to be done. As far as RP storylines go, I provide a simple premise, throw breadcrumbs of plot, then shoot off the cuff for the rest. Since the players are heavily involved in the creation of the story, I don't feel the need to be 5 steps ahead of them all the time, and their contributions help inspire me to come up with plots to push the game along. For the most part, I'm pretty hands-off as a GM and really only flex my authority when I have to be the referee.

I've been the GM of forum RPs and scenes in MMORPGs, so here are some things I've learned from my experiences:

1. You have to be confident and firm in your boundaries. You have to be able to say no, and you have to be able to handle conflict. I've been in many RPs that have fallen apart and died because of weak GMs that let problem players walk all over them and drive the decent players away.