Do Player vs Player fighting Roleplays work without a combat system?

2SEATER

Howdy
I had an idea for a roleplay in which the core action is Player vs Player combat; sort of like a tournament type deal. However, this obviously brings up the issue of how said combat is carried out. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of how dice games work, so that's out of the question, and I'm not sure there are any non-dice combat systems. This leaves me with regular paragraph fighting, which can be slightly problematic. This sort of fighting can work in RPs where fights are a) not the main focus and b) irregular. However, in a RP like I have in mind I'm not so sure.

In a perfect world everyone would work together to create an engaging story, but we all know everyone is attached to their characters and obviously wants them to be focus, which is completely understandable; no one wants to see their character shoved to the side.

So I was just wondering if anyone knew any combat systems, any tips for regular paragraph fighting or if I should just abort the idea. Thanks!

On the contrary! Freeform combat is the best kind. I hate dice combat. The key to making it work is for each combatant to respect the storyline and each other's virtual space. To put this another way, players need to *attempt* actions against their opponents, never *do* things autonomously, and the results of the combat need to fit the storyline. It's not as impartial as a dice system, but it arguably works better.

Thinslayer said:
On the contrary! Freeform combat is the best kind. I hate dice combat. The key to making it work is for each combatant to respect the storyline and each other's virtual space. To put this another way, players need to *attempt* actions against their opponents, never *do* things autonomously, and the results of the combat need to fit the storyline. It's not as impartial as a dice system, but it arguably works better.