Advice/Help Advice for Plot Advancement/Contributing ideas in RPs?

Arcanist

It's always darkest before the dawn
Supporter
Roleplay Type(s)
So, I've been roleplaying on and off for probably nearly six years now, and I do really enjoy it as a hobby. I write in my spare time too and it's something I feel really passionate about. Sometimes I feel like I don't come up with decent ideas or at least I don't come up with them quick enough when working with someone on an RP and I feel like I seem really passive and uninterested. I do take a long time to come up with things and I can be indecisive at times, but I get a lot of people can be the same. I've had negative experiences when people have taken complete control over things and so I get nervous suggesting ideas in an RP (a pretty stupid fear as I know not every idea will be agreed on and I'm totally fine on that front). I hate people being forced to carry RPs and me seeming like I'm floating along and constantly agreeing to ideas.

So, I was wondering how you guys all work to come up with ideas and how you advance plots within any roleplays you have been in. How you've worked with your partners to make pretty decent roleplays with contribution on both sides.

Sorry for the weird question in advance lmao

So, I was wondering how you guys all work to come up with ideas and how you advance plots within any roleplays you have been in. How you've worked with your partners to make pretty decent roleplays with contribution on both sides.

It sounds like to me your primary issue is a lack of confidence/assertiveness rather than inferior story ideas. You told us that you're passionate about writing and roleplaying, but you also go on to tell us you often come off as passive and uninterested. I don't imagine I need to inform you that those are opposites.

The question is, why aren't you allowing your passion to burn in sight of your partners?