Opinion What Makes Great Roleplay

Thysnia

Peanut Butter Bandit
Before I begin, I would like to explain that I am by no means an English professor nor an accomplished novelist. This post is strictly for discussion and aid purposes, and it begins with my observations as a roleplay enthusiast and lifelong writer. In turn, I would appreciate that everyone who joins in this thread be professional and respectful in your replies, and not be offended if you do something I have mentioned below. I am not calling out any particular people, so don't worry!

Great roleplays are thoese that keep its members wanting to not only write a reply, but are eager to read every post from start to finish. You contribute to this cycle just as much as they do, which is the double-edged sword of this hobby. Awesome storylines help roleplays in a way, but if the quality is lost in the execution, such stories will not hold together for long.

The trend I have seen from youth writers is that their well-planned plots tend to begin very slow. More often than not, the first several posts consist of nothing more than a dissection of a character's thoughts and personality and have next to nothing actually happening. While some detail to help other writers understand the type of characters they are dealing with, you're not really getting any closer to the meat by having Henry sit at the edge of his bead moping over how drab the school day was... for the entire four-paragraphs.

Also, it's kind of a waste of your valuable time! This isn't the time to be timid, have your character leave his room and discover something, learn something, or meet someone. Fleshing actions out with thoughts is a valuable tool, but it shouldn't overwhelm your post. I usually find posts with endless emotion boring, and so much more could be done during that time.