Experiences Sharing The Spotlight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bone2pick

Minority of One
As forum roleplayers we have our own frequently used terms and phrases. Some of them include: overpowered, detailed post, godmoding, flowery writing, Mary Sue, and open world. While we may disagree about their exact definitions, for the most part, we can use them with the expectation that others will understand whatever it is we're trying to communicate. You might have your own definition of overpowered, but if I use it you can likely still follow my point.

Which brings me to "sharing the spotlight." I've never used it, but I've encountered it a lot, and I've never actually understood what it means. It doesn't speak to anything I've ever felt as a player or GM. Which leads me to believe it's either rare (as I'm a veteran forum roleplayer), or there's something I do as a participant that protects me from it, or it's not actually a thing.

Question time: do you ever use the phrase "sharing the spotlight," and if so, what do you mean by it?

I have never encountered this term personally but I think I might have an idea what it means in regards to Group RPs.

In extremely large group rps (10+ or more), there is this tendency where a few players tend to dominate the action and other players are ignored or worse, treated at about the same level of importance as background NPCs.

This can be a case where the dominating players are at fault, the ignored players are at fault, or no one is at fault at all. It just tends to be something that happens in group roleplays and leads to players eventually bowing out or dropping.

EDITED FOR CLARITY

Last edited:
In extremely large group rps (10+ or more), there is this tendency where a few players tend to dominate the action and other players are ignored or worse, treated at about the same level of importance as background NPCs.