Literature What advice would you give to a fellow writer?

Emmy

☽ 𝓁𝑜𝓈𝒾𝓃𝑔 𝓂𝓎 𝓂𝒾𝓃𝒹 ☾
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
Hi, hello!

So, I have been writing since I was roughly ten years old and now I am twenty-three. I would say I have improved since childhood, or at least I hope so. However, recently I feel as though my passion for writing has continued to deepen. Maybe it is because of this global pandemic and quarantine, or maybe it is because my mental health will grasp onto just about anything, but I truly believe I have found what I personally seem to click with. The way a writer can paint a scene or an image with just mere words is nothing short of magical to me and I adore it.

With that said, I wish to be better. I want to continue to write but I want my readers to see the passion that I do indeed have and that it seems like I struggle to get across. I also want to broaden my vocabulary. With schooling out of the option for me as of this moment, I decided I would come to my favorite community of writers.

So, my question for you lovely people today is this:

If you could give any advice to a fellow writer wishing to improve their writing, what would it be?

Don't get too caught up in the idea of writing well. No, seriously. Just write, write and write. Vomit words if you have to-- remember that finished books are like nth draft and that nobody's first draft is perfect. (Nothing is perfect, period.) You can always edit stuff later, but first, it needs to exist.

Also, obligatory read, read and read. There's your free education!