• When posting, please be aware that artistic nudity is still nudity and not allowed under RpNation rules. Please edit your pictures accordingly!

Remember to credit artists when using work not your own.

Short story, please critique

Karlore

Unofficial Mayor of Wizard Township
<p>

Hi I wrote this back story as part of a roleplay I'm involved in, but it doesn't really fit with the lore so I'm going to rewrite the whole thing. To be honest it's the longest thing I've written in a while and I'm sort of proud of it. I didn't want to just delete it so I figured I would post it here. I'm still a novice writer and I've never really shared my stuff with other people before so I'd be deeply appreciative if anyone could offer any critiques so I can improve. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Once, there was a sailor who drifted astray. A strong current had carried his boat far away from land, to a place so heavy with fog he couldn't see the stars to find his way home, and with no wind to push him. The boat drifted aimlessly for many days and nights, beyond his control and at the mercy of the currents. As the days passed his dread turned to numbness. When the final day dawned he awoke and made his way toward the stairs from the hull to the deck, passing his now empty supply cache without so much as a glance. He had accepted his fate, and decided to gaze upon the water one last time as he awaited death. There he lay for several hours until his boat began to shake. He stood to see what was happening as a massive tentacle rose from the water and crashed down over the side of the boat, cracking rail and deck and knocking him back down. He grabbed his harpoon and jabbed the beast over and over, all the while wondering if it was just a hallucination. He must have stabbed the tentacle half a hundred times, but it had no effect but to make the beast angrier. More and more tentacles wrapped around the boat as he heaved with exhaustion until finally the head of the mythical creature rose from