Tech Help Mordey find her computer soulmate

Mordecai

the traitorous queen
Hey kids,

Let’s talk computers. As many of you know, I’m kind of computer illiterate, but I’m looking to buy a new computer by the end of the summer and I’m not sure what I should be looking at. Since there is a whole bunch of super cool cats here who know their stuff about computers, I thought I’d ask around!

What I’m looking for is something under two thousand American dollars (though less would be awesome) that is reliable and decent. Currently, I’m running a six year old macbook pro, which I love and has been absolutely faithful to me, but I’m starting to think it just can’t keep up with what I want it to do anymore. I am a hobbyist in digital art and I will often run several very large files in Photoshop simultaneous with other programs (Skype, Firefox, etc.). I’m not huge in to gaming on computers as I generally prefer counsels; however, I do have Steam and enjoy playing games on there (ie: DotA, Tabletop Simulator, so on). Though, if my computer could handle it, I would game more on my computer.

I like Mac and wouldn’t mind going that route again (as all my programs are for OS X), but I’m not afraid to look outside Mac, either. Note that I do shake in my wellies a little bit every time I try and look at computers.

Laptop, not desktop.

I also know very little about computers besides the basics, so if you could please spell things out to be in simpleton language, that’d be great.

*glossy eyes* Please help.

@DJ MagicHat it is your time to shine.

Mordebutt, I would suggest getting a Windows computer this time around, only because they are generally cheaper. However, for quality and user-friendliness, Macs are defs the way to go.

You say you do digital art, so I would start looking at machines that have at least 6GB of RAM. I like to use Newegg to shop for computers online - here's a link to their laptop section.