Difficult Decisions...

Magick

Ser Pounce-A-Lot
I'm pretty new to RP Nation... But not to roleplaying in general. I roleplayed for years. I mean, first, I started off with my own writing (crappy stuff from around third grade) and then when I was old enough and allowed to get on the internet (junior high, which was YEARS ago, haha) I discovered the magical world of roleplay boards... I enjoyed it all through high school... AND then I graduated and college and my own writing totally consumed my life. I stopped roleplaying because it was almost like I had forgotten how to write a story by myself. In other words, I haven't roleplayed because I have been working on my own book... With the characters that I used to roleplay with and new characters. This book isn't a joke... I am going to get the whole thing copyrighted at some point. But my difficult decision is whether or not to roleplay with my familiar, flexible characters who I love dearly... Or to create entirely new ones to keep my book characters (who have changed since I last roleplayed) off the internet and sacred to my plotline while I'm in the process with this book?

Any fellow author/roleplayers ever face/facing the same issue? Also, I'm really sorry if this is the wrong place to post this... It's just bothersome because I want to jump in and roleplay, and I'm only familiar with my old characters. They've been through it ALL with me... But now they're kind of my serious writing side and I'm worried about putting them on forums. Not that I'm distrusting, but for copyright reasons later on down the road... I can create new characters, but... Ahh, it's a struggle. I'm probably over-thinking this, but honestly, going from writing alone and serious and long-term...to writing with people again? That is a culture shock for me, and the atmosphere in my previous roleplaying life was entirely different.

Thoughts? :(

Hi!