Tips on building a ranger?

Nightdawn

OK, I'm pretty new at Exalted, and so are my players.  Our last game was a martial arts fest that ended pretty badly, so one of my players decided to build himself a ranger, a la Lookshy.  Can anybody offer some tips on good charms, good equipment(artifact or otherwise; so far his only definite choice is an Infinite Weapon), and some general tips on how to play it(this is a guy who's idea of immersive roleplay is playing Zanza from Kenshin, lol)?

Well, if you are allowing it, I would recomend a Lunar.  They do not have the same level of raw firepower that a Solar has, but, imo, they make up for it with their shapeshifting powers and Wild immunity.  Since combat is remarkably deadly, taking the Deadly Beastform Transformation Charm is a big equalizer in any fight.  

Well, there's my two cents.

Finally! Someone who sees Lunars for their shapeshifting and stealth capabilities! I was wondering when someone would. At least around here, no one ever sees that, ever. It's terrible. But it is a good idea for a character!

The thing that really annoys me about the Lunar charm trees (Or, well, *one* of the things that really annoys me about the Lunar charm trees) is that vast numbers of their charms are completely redundant. For instance, you can pay a huge amount of xp for a charm that lets you squeeze through small gaps.... or you can catch and eat a mouse.

Lunars are not the most veritile exalted out there. If the player wants a character that can do things OUTSIDE of combat, being something other than Lunar might be best. (I admit, they can be cool character and are not limited strickly to combat, but that's where the majority of their strength is.) And if he's from Lookshy, being a DB or Solar is p'rolly best.