The Heroic Dead

I was just curious if anyone has ever played a game as one of the heroic dead and how that worked out for you.  I've never done that particular experiemnt before and I'm thinking about doing that for my next game, assuming that I can find anyone willing in this area.  I haven't had a game for a while now, and it is starting to effect me.

If anyone wishes to know, I was thinking of doing a game in the city of the dead know as Ruby Sands, in the Far South.  Ruby Sands is the only citadel of the dead which has stood up to the Lion and not been crushed.  This is partially due to the fact that it was founded by the ghosts of a race of nonhumans who were slaughtered by the armies of the Gods not long after the Primordial War.  They were supernatural artificers who had been created by one who became a Malfean and, perhaps due to their special relationship with one of the Malfeans, they kept their supernatural prowess in artifact creation when they entered.  The Ghamall, as they call themselves, are foxlike humaniods.  They are exceptionally gifted at creating artifacts and have a technology similar to that of the Dragon Kings, though they have adapted it to the unusual considerations of the Underworld.  The Lion, as he knows of their special connection to one of the Malfeans, has only sent raiding parties against their city-state, all of which have been utterly annihilated.  This failure has grated on him, and he has sent spies in the guise of traders to the city-state to determine the weaknesses of the Ghamall.

What makes their ability with Artifice special, beyond that of any ghost? Do they have the ability to break the Artifact 3 cap that ghosts are generally listed as having in the Abyssal book?

In order to prevent confusion with Malfeas, I think we should all stop referring to the Neverborn as Malfeans. It's one of the good decisions 2nd. Ed. seems to have made.