Looking for Sites/Helpful Things That Teach Japanese

Danchou Tsubomi

Leader of the Mekakushi Dan
So, my Japanese isn't very good at the moment and it's not really improving. While I do have a English-Japanese (and vice versa) dictionary and Rosetta Stone, I'm...not really learning much. Learning Japanese would help me talk to some of relatives as they don't know a lot of English and are in the more rural, older areas. I'm a student and don't really have much money, so I'd prefer free/cheap subscription based sorts of things. I mostly just want to learn the grammar and form sentences from there, but I'm still a newbie in language learning despite knowing very basic French.

Thanks again. :-)

It takes a lot of time to learn a new language, I for one have been learning japanese very slowly and probably don't know much more then you do, and I don't have rosetta stone. While grammar can't really be taught without words first, I can suggest what I do to learn japanese, with no money in my pocket.

I watch a lot of anime, and if you watch it in subbed, you can start to understand the grammar a little better the more you listen. Just pick a single word from the anime, or japanese subbed tv show, and see where it's repeated in future sentences to understand the word and how it's used. I also do this with J-Pop, and other Japanese media that provides japanese language, and english subbed material. The best places I've found to do this is Youtube or anime sharing websites like kissanime

A site I've been going to that's completely free is PuniPuni. It is simple and easy to follow with both video and text to see. It also helps with Kanji, and other forms of japanese for me.