Other I need advice on approaching people

Trevor B Harper

๐’ฏ๐’ฝ๐‘’ ๐’ฎ๐’ธ๐’ฝ๐“‡๐‘œ๐’น๐’พ๐“ƒ๐‘”๐‘’๐“‡'๐“ˆ ๐’Ÿ๐“Š๐“‚๐“…๐“๐’พ๐“ƒ๐‘”
Right, hello there roleplayers (or not, who am I to judge).
I need advice. I'm a few hours away from going out tonight and I just wanted to know if there's anyone around here who would be able to help me in regards to approaching new people. I moved to a new town not too long ago and I want to make new friends, meet new people and in general have a good time. I have a rough concept of how that works, however, I've never done it before as I have never needed to. Is there any advice in this area? Maybe confidence tips? Conversation starters? Anything that would be useful to not appear as a wimp?
I appreciate any and all tips.
Thank youยฌ

Just be yourself. Introduce yourself to new people and engage in some friendly conversation that will lead to some similar likes. Most of all be honest. I'm not saying you are not by any means, but as they say honesty is the best policy. If you don't know about something don't pretend you do. Just relax and have fun.

I've found that the easiest way to approach people is to have some sort of common ground. It gives you something to talk about, at least. If your new town is large enough, you could try meetups.com where there's a better chance to meet people with similar interests. Accordingly, check out your local community centre, and see if they're offering any classes/workshops/events you might be interested in attending.

Also, if you're talking to a local, don't hide the fact that you're new in town. In my experience, people love that. Ask them about restaurants, coffee shops, etc. that they recommend, and other places they feel you should visit. Makes people think you value their opinion a lot, and if you pull it off right, some might even offer to come with you to those places!