• When posting, please be aware that artistic nudity is still nudity and not allowed under RpNation rules. Please edit your pictures accordingly!

Remember to credit artists when using work not your own.

Tutorial ~ Peritwinkle's Tome of Art Tutorials ~

What tutorial should I post next?

• Color theory and tips

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Shapes and depth

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Posing a character for interesting portraits

Votes: 3 60.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

peritwinkle

♠️your local Raphael♠️
Helper
anatomy and why it matters.png
Hello everyone!

As many of you know, I post quite a lot of art on this site, and out of my passion for it I decided to make a second thread, this time dedicated to sharing all I know and hopefully guiding some of you who are interested in improving. I am by no means an expert (frankly, just someone who spends WAY too much time drawing and gawking at other people's masterpieces), but I would love to share little tips and tricks I picked along the way, to make your art life easier. Please take everything written here with a grain of salt and read away knowing these are my personal tips and you absolutely, under NO circumstance, have to follow them in order to be a good artist.

That being said, I thought I should start with what I consider should be the foundation of everyone's knowledge, whether your style is more realistic or cartoonish - anatomy. Now, I am by no means saying a certain art style would not admit variations (YOU make the rules of your own art!) but I strongly believe everything is rooted in reality and, regardless of one's artistic preferences, there are some laws of physics and biology that, if overlooked, can completely throw off the harmony of an entire piece.

So here's the deal.