Any tips for an aspiring ST?

Sheridan Boyce

I'm kind of new to Exalted, I've only been playing for less then a year now (not entirely sure how long actually), but I want to write a story for my troupe.  Two of the players are old hat Exalted players, one knows the game inside and out, and the other is just as new as I am.  I've run other games before but never Storyteller, and I haven't read all of the books, or even all of Solars yet, just most of it.

I've got some ideas for the story and I plan on running a Dynast game as pretty much all of us like DBs better than the other Exalts.  I'm basically just looking for any tips or suggestions that any of the mroe experianced STs on the board might want to throw my way.

Thanks!

Since you've run other games, you probably know your strengths as a GM/Storyteller already. Play to those, within the framework of Exalted.

Make sure you don't inhibit the characters. The Exalted can be tremendous movers and shakers in a way few other RPG characters can match. This might be a little unsettling to a DM used to D&D characters and their ilk. Resist the temptation (if it exists) to play down or limit your characters' glory.

Also, while it can lend is self well to small stories, Exalted really excells at facilitating BIG stories.

Finally, if you're going to run a Dynast game, the DB book is a cover-to-cover must-read.

-S

I think that first point might be my biggest hurdle, I've an innate fear of letting the PCs be too powerful.  I've been considering not allowing sorcerers, simply because they can do so very much, but if I keep a close eye on the PCs, I shoudl be able to deal with their strengths and weaknesses.

Sorcerers aren't necessarily the big shots in Exalted...

But ANY exalted PC worth his salt is going to be powerful and he is going to make changes to the setting by his actions.

Don't restrict your players... let them fly free.