Literature Writers

MurderOfCrows

But the YoYo Master just kept yo-ing!
Mostly started this to gather some writers together to receive and give some advice. One of my biggest problems is coming up with story ideas and worldbuilding, but not actually writing a story.

If you have any concerns for your writing or stories, perhaps I or others could help ya out.

Some questions if you're jazzed enough to answer:

What topics or themes recurr in your writing (or what would you like to cover in your stories)?

Would you want your story and characters be adapted into another medium (cartoon, movie, comic, etc)?

What do you need to improve?

What authors do you draw your inspiration from?

Who's your favorite character (that you created)?

Just chiming in here since I am an amateur author on RoyalRoad and wanted to say hi!

As for your problems, world building is an iffy subject in my experience and the best way to describe good mechanics of it is to be detailed, but not in a way that is overly obvious. This is easier to do in first person, but third person isn't much harder. That is my take on it at least.

My issue is that I always have these idea running around in my head, with no thought as to how to connect them all, but I mostly struggle with forming them into a readable context.
Also, once I have started writing and have something good going, I'm terrible at ending stories. I'm never satisfied with how I end things - I'm maybe too nice about my endings and need to be a little harsher, given the plot of some of the stories I've written. Not that anyone ever gets to read 'em xD