Viewpoint Why is everyone so terrified of the starter/first post?

NotPoisonousIvy

Friendly Alien NPC
Roleplay Type(s)
This is probably a very bad idea ... here goes nothing.

Alright, the title may make me sound a little bit salty, but I’m honestly just curious about this. Why is everybody so scared of writing the starter/first post for the RP? Is this just my personal experience? Am I missing something here?

I’ve been roleplaying for a few years now, and I can count on one hand all the instances in which my partners offered/agreed to write the first post. It was about four times. That job usually gets placed on my shoulders.

Now, let’s make things clear- I don’t want to make a fuss about it. I have always willingly agreed to write the starter because I honestly don’t mind it- but a few things have been really bothering me as of lately.

I have found that, in the rare instances when I was unable to write the starter (thanks to real life issues) and my partner offered to do so, they ended up ghosting the RP. Similarly, many people who claimed to be ‘busy’ were able to immediately provide one (or several) replies for the starter, despite their claims.

To sum it up- I’m confused and want to know if people here have had similar experiences. (Or am I making a big deal out of nothing?)

In my experience, people don't like starting for maybe a couple of reasons.
  • They don't want to write the starter only to get ghosted. It happens, sadly, but they don't wanna put the work in for nothing, if that makes sense.
  • Maybe they're afraid their writing won't be good enough, or that their partner won't like it
  • No muse/no idea how to start. It should be discussed between partners on how to start, but still, some people prefer the scene be set for them.
Just what I've seen/can think of at the moment.

In my experience, people don't like starting for maybe a couple of reasons.