Character Theory What are some of your favorite character archetypes to roleplay with?

welian

#BlackLivesMatter
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
I have a love/hate relationship with trickster type characters, I'm not very good at playing them and my characters tend to be prideful, which makes them easy pickings. If we're talking more tropes, I love playing bratty, snobby rich characters. I GM a lot, so it's nice to give my players a common enemy to take down a peg.

I honestly don't know. The biggest archetype I'm even familiar with is the "my parents died when I was young" one, which as we all know is quite cliché. That being said, I tend to put a lot of work into making my characters not have a set archetype, and then end up botching it when I actually roleplay them making them end up everyone's enemy for some god-forsaken reason far beyond my know-how.

They do tend to be above-average brain-wise, I suppose. Though I guess not always.

Speaking old-fashioned is also another thing, but that's probably more to do with me than the character, to be honest.

I tend to play Hufflepuffs basically. I am sure there is another word for it but I’m a potter child so I call them Hufflepuffs.

Basically hardworkers with easy going personalities and love of nature/healing/people as the story demands.

Common faults are privelage, stubbornness, and complacency.

My favorite character to play against is overachievers. Folks who are a thousand percent about demolishing the competition in anything from business, studies, to who can make the best macaroni art.

I think they tend to make my more drab characters more lively. Plus they’re fun characters to interact with. Like Mary Sues but with self-awareness