Advice/Help Transitioning from groups to 1x1 RPs?

Kipsy

Socially Anxious Chocolate Addict
Hello! This is my first time posting on the site, so I hope I'm doing things right!

Anyways, I wanted to ask if anyone could give me some tips for 1x1 RPs. I've done some forum-based group stuff before, all very slow-paced but with lots of people. It was easy to reply there, and I always felt like there was something for my character to do. Rapid fire, short, and fun. Recently, though, the other players in my RPs have gone fairly inactive. Instead of looking for new groups to play with, I thought it'd be cool to try a 1x1.

The problem is that I have no idea how to do that. I'll have to write more per post, but it seems like it'd be so hard to keep the story moving. I don't want to leave my partner trying to fix any mistakes I make. I also don't want them to feel like they have to "carry" me around. I'm naturally a very meticulous person and, as a result, I love to plan. Thus, I'd like to take an active roll in the storytelling, but at the same time, I'm worried that'll come off as me wanting to control every little detail.

What's the proper way to handle a 1x1 rp? Does anyone have any examples for how it might go, or what the posts typically look like? How do you keep things moving nicely? Building a story isn't so much of a problem for me; it's actually writing the thing that has me on edge. The balance of power, so to speak. This is a totally unfamiliar territory for me...

I'm also always an anxious mess, so half of my concerns are probably just in my head. But, I'll feel so much better once I get this off my chest. (If anyone has advice for controlling social anxiety while roleplaying, I'd love to hear that too.)

Anyone willing to help a newbie out?

Good you decided to ask for advice, but there is no need to be worried!