Viewpoint Niche Corner of Fandoms (and how it effects your RP experience)

Murdergurl

will turn your insides into your outsides
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
So I've realized for a while that while I have an interest in some obscure fandoms. And it's understandable when you don't see many (or any) RPs for those fandoms running. And it's also understandable when you don't get any takers for them when you make a setting, either. However, I also know that I have interests in some popular fandoms. The thing is, I don't necessarilly like them for the reasons they are popular. Here's some examples:

Star Wars
I love Star Wars. But I'm actually not too big on the whole Jedi/Sith aspect. I know it's what makes Star wars different from any other Space Opera Sci-fi franchise. But I just really don't care for the space wizards. I'm more interested in it for the scum and villainy aspect. The wild west overture, the dog fights. One of my favorite sub-groups in the franchise are the Mandalorians. I know, big surprise, right? Everyone and their grandma like Mandos now. Especially with the recent Mandalorian series. But that's not the Mandalorians I'm talking about. Imo, the series is kind of a piss poor representation of Mandalorians to the extent of their EU history. What I really like in them, are when they were the Taung race, before the Neo-Crusaders. But... I know I can forget about ever hoping to find someone running an RP in that setting. I have created a human character in a setting further down the line, for ease of integration. But even then, everyone only seems interested in running Star Wars RPs in timelines around the movies or series. And that really doesn't work for me.

Judge Dredd