Idea Need help planning (and possibly managing) an rp.

Rose-Chan

Trying to bring myself back
So, i am planning to create a colloseum style rp, likely a bit of plot involved to get a little bit of movement and interest, but my major issue is.. How could i reasonably create a fair environment within a colloseum-atyle rolepkay without being too restrictive on player actions? I plan to givw players choices between power types (or dicuss with me their own ideas). This will help me keep some semblance of balance, but what about the actual actions characters take? Is there any reasonable way, or is it something that as a gm, i need to call out when i feel something stands out of line or is being used improperly in is OP?

I would also like to ask for advice on certain specifics, to those who like to discuss powers, id like for you guys to check the spoiler tag here. To those that arent, ignore this part.
So, in the roleplay, players will create characters with certain stengths, weaknesses interests and hobbies. If they happen to share certain traits or meet certain criteria, they can chose from premade powers to fight with. I would like to discuss with someone, anyone, about ideas. I would privide examples but this isnt much the place for that. If you are interested in discussing this, i coukd either pm or.. If its allowed (im not sure?) i can create a thread dedicated to discussing roleplay power ideas. Please keep in mind a major part of the powers is that they must have some associated trait with characters, at least in my rp.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies to this with any amount of advice, and i am sorry if i have posted in the wrong forum for this!

How could I reasonably create a fair environment within a colloseum-style roleplay without being too restrictive on player actions?: