Advice/Help GM How to.

Soviet Panda

Red Panda Commanda.
Roleplay Type(s)
I'm not good at being a gm, which kind of sucks with some of the things I want to do. I got rp of the month once, true, but I have no clue how that happened. Any and all advice on how to be a good gm would be appreciated. Personal experiences, or observations you made on someone else gming, all are welcomed.

First things first. Prepare to be organized and dedicate some time to ensuring your roleplay remains active.

Then I find the following things to be helpful purely from an organizational standpoint

1. Come up with an idea ( a setting , a plot, etc. )
2. Decide how structured you want the story to be ( a plot that moves along, a slice of life roleplay, a mix of both )
3. Decide how many people you are comfortable supervising
4. Decide what kind of post requirements you'll need ( how often players post, how much )
5. Decide what kind of characters you'll be accepting ( are their any limitations that need to be placed on this, like no young children, no xx species, etc. )
5b. If your players are making characters with powers decide the limitations you want to place on those
6. Set up a system of discplinary actions.
( ex. you break a rule you get a warning, you break it again you get kicked out )
7. Talk to your players see what kind of suggestions they have for your roleplay.

That's about all I can think of off the top of my head for general GM rules. There might be more specific advice depending on the kind of roleplay you want to do.