Story fantasy drabble, crossposted on r/writingprompts and deviantart

cuzn

lucid luciel
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
[WP] You were hated even by the Teachers in the Magic School. One day you were given the Assignment to go through the Dark Forest, which was infested with Monsters and Eldritch Horrors. You accepted your death and went into the forest, but after hearing your story the Eldritch Horrors take you in.

Prompt by u/derDunkelElf

The Arcadian Academy for the Magically-Gifted was the very definition of the word 'elitist' in the magical community; it was a miracle that Jasmine had even been accepted, considering her less-than-appealing resumé. Orphaned, no prior schooling, self-taught in the ways of Old Magic through ancient grimoires and texts instead of in the standard New World Vernacular spells and religions; she even spoke in an accent not particularly favored by the upper society. The last trace remaining, save for her appearance, of her obvious Dökkálfar heritage.

Apparently, she had impressed the examiners enough with her magical talent alone to get into the school regardless of every other apparently-undesirable trait listed, but by the time the end of the first term had rolled around, any type of awe at her prodigious skill was quickly replaced by much less favorable feelings towards her character.

It made sense, in a cynical type of way, as to why the instructors would look the other way when a few troublemaking students would throw her bookbag into the courtyard fountain, or why no staff member seemed to care—or even disagree—when she was called a 'witch' or a 'heretic'. The Academy was focused on appearances more than it was any actual depth, and in general, it wasn't good for appearances when one of the highest-scoring students wouldn't spend her time smiling and waving, and would instead be poking around in the closed-off sections of the library that housed information on the darker forms of sorcery.

In particular, necromancy.