2019 Writing Event Death Before Dishonor (An Excerpt from my WIP book by the same name)

TheSunVanished

Follower of the Vanished Sun
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
My name is Alexander Morris. I am 19 years old, and I am a graduate of Marquette Senior High School with a Technical Honors Diploma. I plan on entering the Armed Forces into the United States Marine Corps. I talked it over with my friends and they say I should do it.

I’ve decided. I’m going into the Marines. I contacted my local recruiter, and he said he’d tell his CO next weekend. All I have to do is wait. I read over the paper he had given me containing the location of my Recruit Training. “Camp Pendleton...interesting,” I muttered quietly to myself as I read over the rest of the paper.

I woke up at 7:00 AM the day before my deployment. I rubbed my eyes and sighed, standing up and stretching. I walked into the kitchen and made myself some coffee, slowly drinking it as I read over the paper I was given. “I go to California tomorrow..” I sigh again and set the paper down along with the empty coffee mug.

When I boarded the bus to Camp Pendleton, I was very tired. I nearly fell asleep when I sat down. When I arrived at Pendleton, I was jolted awake by the trio of SDI’s screaming at the top of their lungs.

“GET ON YOUR FEET RECRUITS! I WILL NOT ASK YOU AGAIN!” They yelled.

“YES, SIR!”, we responded. We stood up straight and awaited orders. As I looked at the group I was with, I noticed that a majority were of different ethnicities.

“GET OFF MY BUS!” One of the DI’s yelled.

“AYE, SIR!” We all yelled in unison. I exhaled a shaky breath as I got off the bus and onto the iconic yellow footprints.