• If your recruitment thread involves completely going off site with your partner(s) then it belongs in the Off-Site Ad Area.
  • This area of the site is governed by the official Recruitment rules. Whether you are looking for players or looking for a roleplay, we recommend you read them and familiarize your self with them. Read the Recruitment Rules Here.

D&D Half-Sandbox Adventure

RushingRiver

Hello! Looking to create a fun campaign for a sandbox-like adventure. I'm quite new to the world of DMing, so this will be an exciting learning experience for everyone.

1585858977035.png
The adventure begins in the coastline city of Seligen. You are sitting peacefully alone at a small table in Bok's Bar, when suddenly you hear a smash. Then a bang. Then an uproar of screaming and yelling. You glance over to the people sitting near you in confusion. The silent place you had been enjoying had turned to chaos within seconds. You can hear glass shattering, people arguing, and you see a halfling flip his chair in anger. All of a sudden smoke fills the air, and people start stampeding out of the bar at full speed. You rapidly gather your belongings and follow the current of panicked people. Once arriving safely outside, you cast a quick look over your shoulder to see Bok's Bar being swallowed whole by angry flames. You turn around to see a group of armed men, the Seligen City Police, standing over you. You, and the few people that were seated near you.

I'll attach a link to the character sheet sign up later if there's enough people, looking for about 4-7 members :)

Few questions:
A) What do you mean by 'sandbox-like' adventure?
B) Will this be session-based or play-by-post? If the latter will there be any post/timing requirements?
C) Any other details you can share regarding what will be allowed in terms of characters? Starting level, whether or not things like homebrew or unearthed arcana are allowed, etc...