Anime & Manga Cliches in Anime/Manga: Good or Bad?

ZeiruliousMakavar

The Archon of Madness
Roleplay Availability
Roleplay Type(s)
So after spending quite awhile watching some of the newer animes and reading the newer mangas, I've noticed a slight trend in Manga and Anime lately. That is, most of the 'mainstream' animes and mangas seem to be about fan service only, with extremely predictable plots if any at all.

I personally do not mind a fan service scene here and there in an anime or manga. But when the fan service is the main thing, then it gets boring really quickly. On levels bordering on annoying. I have dropped several animes because of this.

Now, I'm not an expert on market trends, or on anime/manga in general. I do understand that fan service indeed is one thing that can keep an anime or manga alive, especially when talking of the merchandise that comes with such things. How ever, I feel bad for the manga writers/artists, who have to either change their work or cancel it all together, because they don't have stereotypical characters and cliché scenes/plots in their mangas/animes.

It seems the trend for plots nowadays is this: Guy gets sent to another world and meets several attractive women. All of these women fall in love with him, despite him having no redeeming qualities, as he's either a jerk to them, or completely useless. He then has to save the world from some dark evil, and gets the prettiest girl in the world as his wife/girlfriend because of this.