Experiences Anxiety? Doubt? Inclusion?

S h i s h a

I've been RPing for a few years now and I've had a few run ins where partners and roleplays would dominate my life (unintentionally). I would be so swept up in making sure I wrote great posts and posted ASAP, always on the verge of worrying if my partner was happy. Or if they even cared about my characters the same way I had become invested in theirs. I would hear them plot about their OCs and leave mine in the dust. It made me too anxious to write. Or if I went on vacation, I'd worry my partners would be gone even though they knew I'd be coming back in a week or two weeks time. I know this is a lot to unload, and being new here and all, but I can't help but wonder if anyone else has these kinds of negative feelings crop up from time to time. I try to keep my distance, mentally and emotionally these days so if ghosting happens or I feel a bit like the story is one sided. But I still do enjoy writing with people. I just wonder if anyone else has become dependent on a RP or partner or had similar kinds of feelings about feeling good enough or included enough in a plot.

I would say you might want to try talking to your roleplay partner prior to starting the roleplay. Just making friends outside the roleplay helps as you get to know the person without any pressure to preform.

And if they are aware of your anxiety they can know if there is anything they need to do to help.

Last edited:
I agree. Definitely talk ahead of time. For instance, I have Lupus which is an autoimmune disease. I can have periods of feeling bad or tired and I try and make sure that my partners know this so that they can expect drops in quality at times or days when I won't be able to respond depending on my health. Communication is important and really helps.

Or if they even cared about my characters the same way I had become invested in theirs.