Tutorial Advice from a Nurse

Uneveringslinky

Curse word
(-ing student!)

The body is very complex, all these systems and parts and pieces that make us up, but what happens when things go wrong?
Sometimes the best thing you can add to your angst plot is a sudden and dramatic illness, but does it always have to be cancer? There are plenty of other terrible awful things that can happen, and I’m here to help.

I am a Senior nursing student currently in my off semester, so to prevent my books from collecting dust I wanted to offer a kind of question and answer forum. Give me a list of symptoms you want your character to have and I can help you find an illness, treatments, and ways it would change your characters life. Tell me the traumatic event your planning and I’ll help you figure out the likelihood that your character will get out of this alive. Ask me how things really work in the hospital (because no medical shows ever really get it right). Really, I’m just looking for an excuse to lay down some medical jargon, ill try and answer any question I can.

*Please don’t give me symptoms YOU are personally having in an attempt at me diagnosing your mystery illness, I’m a future Nurse, not a doctor!

ohhhh, thanks for the thread! i majored in psych so i know that perspective of chronic illnesses (particularly development-wise) and ofc have webmd at my disposal but i think something like this thread would really help get the full picture?