Other A Friendly Discussion

GojiBean

Your resident irradiated Kaiju King
Roleplay Type(s)
Hoyo!

So I've a topic I want to discuss and see differing opinions on. The use of nostalgia in story telling, and whether or not you think it should have its limits, or be used freely without limitation.

For example, as is obvious from my avatar, I'm a Godzilla fan. The new King of the Monsters film that came out last year by Michael Dougherty had A LOT of nostalgic moments in it. However, as a writer, I found that the inclusion of said moments lacked a lot of the substance, integrity, and meaning of the original moments from which they were inspired. And to me, many of those moments would have been better off saved for later when there was more world building to back them up rather than throwing them into our laps and expecting nostalgia alone to do the heavy lifting.

Make sense?

For example: The inclusion of the Oxygen Destroyer (which I will refer to as OD from now on).

... This is going to be a bit of a rant, so I apologize ahead of time. Lol.

The Oxygen Destroyer is the only device that humanity has ever created that's successfully killed Godzilla (way back in 1954's original Gojira film). Its creator, Doctor Serizawa, was adamant that it only be used as a tool for scientific testing and discovery. He knew that if its existence was made public, people everywhere, particularly world governments or power hungry psychopaths, would try to get their hands on it and weaponize it. And with as much destructive force as a prototype version the size of a bottle cap had to almost immediately liquefy fish in a fish tank and reduce them first to skeletons, then to nothing, imagine how devastating one the size of a missile would be?